
Paula Abdul's feedback bordered craziness by the end of her run. Neurotic and scattered, and at times, it was painful watching her attempt to articulate a criticism. Like watching someone running down the street naked with a wedding veil. I would say, "I'm sorry, what just happened?"
But...
Is it me or does her absence expose a clear folly at the judges table? No shade to the current panel but Paula Abdul presented a knowing to the panel. A balance. Considering she is performer (regardless the lack of vocal strength), her advice came by the success of her musical relationship with America. Having been a success and a failure, her advice emerged from a different place of observation and proved to be beneficial.
"Your lower register is your money. Use that," she'd say. "There was joy in that performance. Keep the joy but try another emotion." I enjoyed her actual advice.
Currently, we have Kara saying, "You should have sung something by Rihanna or Beyonce." Excuse me? Don't do that! When advice comes by example people will chose by that limitation, especially contestants who are vulnerable and desire to please. Everyone doesn't have the articulation of Beyonce or the stage presence of Rihanna. These kinds of comparison murder individuality. Allow them to choose their song and suck on their own. Judge only that performance and move on. These tactics have even filtered into Simon's comments, "I wish I was picking your songs for you." Why? Don't do that?
I choose sinking my own ship and reflecting my own craziness and wouldn't whole-heartedly take advice from judges who listen by the ear of entertain and not vocal structure. Just tell me I sucked and lower the song's key. Don't tell me I sucked but I would suck less if I'd sung Aeorsmith.
Don't do that!
Where's Paula?



